Exploring the creative possibilities of presenting theatrical, cinematic, and performance pieces in virtual space.

Logo design by Vincent Gagliostro 

SEPTEMBER 2022

Sunday, September 25 at 2pm ET, 11am PT and 7pm GMT

Performance pieces in virtual space!

*Please note this event will take place online via Zoom and commences at 2:00pm ET (11:00am PT, 7:00pm GMT)*

Our September 2022 MIXOLOGY event celebrates life, memory and art with Shorts of All Sorts that explore the creative possibilities of presenting theatrical, cinematic, and performance pieces in virtual space.

Q&A/discussion with presenting artists follows the presentation.

*** Attendees who register at EventBrite will receive the Zoom link and login information for the event via email prior to the event. Please be sure beforehand to download Zoom to your computer or mobile device. ***

PROGRAM:

FROST/NIXON
In a scene from Peter Morgan’s play Frost/Nixon – directed for Zoom by Linda Osborn with actors Andrew Warner, Terry Gibson and Michael A. Tyrell – David Frost confronts Richard Nixon about his actions while Nixon grapples with his legacy.

DEATH OF THE MONARCH
A documentary short by Monae Sims on the stages of grief after the loss of the family matriarch. Through African American dance and cinema, the artist explores healing as nonlinear.

MY MOTHER’S FATHER’S SONG
An animated short produced by Ana Bayat as a conceptual piece for her play tells the story of Alice Davis, displaced from her native Warsaw at the onset of World War II. Once in Canada with the husband she met at a relocation camp, Alice relays memories of her father’s famous tavern in the Jewish quarter of 1930s Warsaw and its association with the famous Polish ballad Bal u Starego Joska.

DEBORAH NAPIER: IN MEMORIAM
Selected works by Deborah Napier. A Mixology participant who engaged so much with the theatre community in New York City and shared her humor and kindness with so many – Deb left this world July 25, 2022 and we honor her by sharing a few of her works – Catnip, Staten Island Medium, and Out of the Blue. Close friend and editor of Staten Island Medium Rachel Craw will join us in the Q&A to talk a little about working with Deb as an artist. Her memory lives on through those who knew her and the work she created.

Previous Months’ Programs: